Montrose FC New Away Kit

New Away Kit For Season 2022/23

Order Now

Dunfermline 1 Montrose 0

Montrose Fall to Late Winner at East End Park



Next Match

Montrose v Clyde

Match Details

202/23 Season Tickets Out Now


Read More

Buy Now

Season Ticket Instalments

CLUB 500


Read More & Join Today

Falkirk 0 Montrose 0

For Montrose an away point against Falkirk is always a point gained and to the home side it will be 2 points lost but in the end it was Montrose who will feel they were the better side on the day. A healthy crowd of 3,682 included 60 from the Mo with train travel and fuel costs hitting fans hard at present. The referee was Gavin Duncan who got it underway with Rory McAllister and keeper Ross Sinclair making their debuts for Montrose.

Wearing their new away shirts in striking red the Mo threatened first with McAllister down the left winning a corner which the home keeper collected comfortably. In the next move the Bairns crowd appealed for a penalty in a 50/50 challenge but the referee was not impressed and play continued.

Early play became end to end with Falkirk looking to work it down the flanks but it was Montrose who looked more of a threat winning several corners and free kicks in decent positions.

McGinn for Falkirk was yellow carded for a foul on Masson after a second foul and Terry did well to keep his cool at that point. Mo had the ball in the net on 11 minutes but an offside flag saved the day for Falkirk. Lyons had a shot saved as Montrose upped the pressure then Masson got a yellow card as the crowd roared for a foul and the referee reached for his pocket.

Up to the half hour mark with Montrose still having the edge but needing to be aware of the counter threat from Morrison and Nesbitt of Falkirk and Waddell was yellow carded for breaking up one such attack when it looked like his man was getting past him. It was Morrison again down the left but with no support he tested Mo keeper Sinclair who collected it with ease. More Mo pressure was applied in the lead up to half-time but yielded nothing as it stayed 0-0 at the break.

No changes for the second half as Falkirk upped the pressure hoping for a break through but Montrose held firm. Then Mo came back at the Bairns and Webster headed just wide from a corner then Masson threaded a ball through to McAllister who unfortunately failed to connect with it as it ran away for a goal kick.

Falkirk made the first change after 60 minutes with Oliver off and Alegria on whilst for Montrose Johnston and Lyons came off with Whatley on along with Gardyne. That paved the way for Webster to move further upfield on the right with Gardyne on the left in place of Lyons. Play was 50/50 now and on 66 minutes McGuffie replaced Hetherington for Falkirk.

Two more Montrose corners came and went before Falkirk made a further change with Ross on for Morrison surprisingly and on 74 minutes the Mo brought on Craig Brown for Graham Webster and a couple of minutes later Callaghan and McAllister were replaced by youngsters Matthew Wright and Adam Mackinnon.

With so many senior team members off now it seemed Montrose might be settling for a point with 15 minutes to go but bringing on the fresh legs of the youngsters up front did in fact raise the tempo if anything and but for a wee bit of experience the Mo might well have gone home with all three points and Craig Brown almost did just that when his last gasp shot whistled narrowly past the post with the full-time whistle sounded immediately afterwards.

Falkirk had good periods of possession it should be said particularly down the flanks so Montrose had to be careful not to gift a goal which would have settled it when they themselves certainly deserved a share of the points if not more.

Report by Steve Doyle

Team Lineups & Stats

SPFL cinch League 1

Saturday 30th July 2022



1  P J Morrison
21  Ross Sinclair
2  Ryan Williamson
7  Graham Webster (s74)
4  Stephen McGinn (c)
5  Kerr Waddell
6  Coll Donaldson
14  Seán Dillon
7  Callumn Morrison (s73)
3  Andrew Steeves
8  Steven Hetherington (s67)
6  Terry Masson (c)
10  Aidan Nesbitt
19  Liam Callaghan (s82)
14  Finn Yeats
10  Lewis Milne
18  Gary Oliver (s60)
16  Craig Johnston (s63)
22  Brad McKay
9  Rory McAllister (s81)
26  Sean Mackie
11  Blair Lyans (s63)
9  Juan Alegria (s60)
8  Paul Watson
11  Craig McGuffie (s67)
17  Aidan Quinn
16  Seb Ross (s73)
15  Mark Whatley (s63)
17  Jaime Wilson
20  Adam McKinnon (s82)
20  Blair Sneddon
22  Craig Brown (s74)
27  Kyle Connolly 12  Michael Gardyne (s63)
15  Leon McCann 23  Martin Rennie
28  Pearce Carroll 18  Matthew Wright (s81)
12  Paddy Martin 1  Aaron Lennox

Gavin Duncan

Assistant Referees:
Steven Traynoe, Ross Menzies


Yellow Cards:
Falkirk - Stephen McGinn (9)
Montrose - Terry Masson (18), Kerr Waddell (29), Matthew Wright (90+2)

Red Cards:



Contact Us

Links Park Stadium

Wellington Street
Angus DD10 8QD

Tel: 01674 673200

Fax: 01674 677311
Operations Manager: 01674 673200