Club News

Back to News


Newly-crowned League 1 champions Falkirk celebrated in emphatic fashion, putting seven goals past promotion-chasing Montrose.

Hamilton Academicals’ home draw with Queen Of The South meant that Falkirk had secured the title before the evening kick-off, and the Bairns brought a large traveling support to Links Park to commemorate achieving promotion from League 1 at the fifth attempt.

Falkirk opened the scoring in the fourth minute, Ross MACIVER capitalising on a mistake from Montrose goalkeeper Cammy Gill to slot into the empty net.

Montrose’s Kane Hester headed well wide of the post in the 15th minute.

Aiden NESBITT put the visitors two goals in front in the 21st minute, sidefooting home inside the box.

Graham Webster was denied a goal when Sam Long clawed the ball off the goal line from a header in the 25th minute.

Kane HESTER reduced the deficit in the 31st minute, side-footing home from the edge of the box under pressure from the Falkirk defence.

But Ethan ROSS restored Falkirk’s two-goal cushion in the 33rd minute, firing home from the edge of the box.

With the first half edging to a close, Blair Lyons forced Long into a save with a ferocious drive from the edge of the box.

Aidan NESBITT’s deflected shot from eight yards out put Falkirk firmly in the driivng seat just two minutes after the break.

Ross MACIVER added Falkirk’s fifth two minutes later with a low drive.

Callumn Morrison passed up a chance to add Falkirk’s sixth in the 16th minute, sending a low shot wide.

Alfie AGYEMANG, introdued as a substitute just moments earlier, added Falkirk’s sixth in the 67th minute.

Ryan SHANLEY scored Falkirk’s seventh goal in the 74th minute with a low deflected shot, while Agyemang hit the post with a header in the 86th minute.

Stephen McGinn came close to scoring an eighth for Falkirk with a low drive in the 87th minute.

Report by Mark Rae

Pic by Phoenix Photography 

Post match reaction